I feel like a big pile of klunk.

Because I don’t have television at home, I have been reading through a stack of popular dytopian fiction for entertainment while attempting to fight off pneumonia. Earlier, I wrapped up The Maze Runner trilogy by James Dashner which is where I picked up the term klunk — synonymous for “crap” or even perhaps the expletive version…

A classmate recommended the books via a book talk earlier in the semester. I thoroughly enjoyed the trilogy and found myself unable to put them down. If you enjoyed The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins, you might be interested in picking up this one!

Here’s an overview of the first book, The Maze Runner, published by School Library Journal:

Grade 6–10—Thomas wakes up in an elevator, remembering nothing but his own name. He emerges into a world of about 60 teen boys who have learned to survive in a completely enclosed environment, subsisting on their own agriculture and supplies from below. A new boy arrives every 30 days. The original group has been in “the glade” for two years, trying to find a way to escape through a maze that surrounds their living space. They have begun to give up hope. Then a comatose girl arrives with a strange note, and their world begins to change. There are some great, fast-paced action scenes, particularly those involving the nightmarish Grievers who plague the boys. Thomas is a likable protagonist who uses the information available to him and his relationships (including his ties to the girl, Teresa) to lead the Gladers. Unfortunately, the question of whether the teens will escape the maze is answered 30 pages before the book ends, and the intervening chapter loses momentum. The epilogue, which would be deliciously creepy coming immediately after the plot resolves, fails to pack a punch as a result. That said, The Maze Runner has a great hook, and fans of dystopian literature, particularly older fans of Jeanne DuPrau’s The City of Ember (Random, 2003), will likely enjoy this title and ask for the inevitable sequel. (Kristin Anderson, Columbus Metropolitan Library System)

The trilogy consists of:
The Maze Runner (2009)
The Scorch Trials (2010)
The Death Cure (2011)

I’ll be purchasing the trilogy in e-book format for my dad’s upcoming birthday!