Dear Bully: 70 Authors Tell Their Stories
Edited by Megan Kelley Hall & Carrie Jones
  (2011); New York, NY:
HarperTeen
369 pp; $7.99 (paperback)
ISBN: 9780062060983; OCLC: 703206503
Genres: Young Adult / Non-Fiction / Biography

“YOU ARE NOT ALONE.” Between the two covers, a group of 70 young adult authors who observed, experienced, and even perpetrated bullying in their youth share some of their darkest moments which are conveyed to readers through a collection of stories, poems, and letters. With the hope of enlightening and inspiring victims of bullying, this heart-wrenching book that can be humorous at times providing not only comfort, but also encouragement to break the silence which all too often prevails.

Dear Bully is the nonfiction equivalent of a page-turner, but is better read in smaller doses due to the nature of the book. Popular contributors include: Heather Brewer, Carolyn Mackler, Lauren Oliver, Carrie Ryan, R. L. Stine, and Laurie Faria Stolarz. The contributors quickly bring readers into their confidence and bare the secrets of the vulnerable times in their lives. The book is broken into several sections or themes: Dear Bully; Just Kidding; Survival; Regret; Thank You, Friends; Insight; Speak; Write It; and, It Gets Better. Included at the back of the book, there’s even a section of resources for teens as well as educators and parents.

School Library Journal recommended this book for grade 9 and up; however, based on many of the stories shared, middle school students could definitely relate to this book. Dear Bully: 70 Authors Tell Their Stories would make a phenomenal addition to any public library and school media center; parents, guardians, teachers, and anyone else who works with youth could benefit from reading this book. 5/5 stars.

Read-Alikes: Hello Cruel World: 101 Alternatives to Suicide for Teens, Freaks, and Other Outlaws by Kate Bornstein, The Pregnancy Project: A Memoir by Gaby Rodriguez, The Gifted Teen Survival Guide: Smart, Sharp, and Ready for (Almost) Anything by Judy Galbraith and Jim Delisle, Girls Against Girls: Why We Are Mean to Each Other and How We Can Change by Bonnie Burton, and Chicken Soup for the Soul: Teens Talk Middle School: 101 Stories of Life, Love, and Learning for Younger Teens by Jack Canfield.

(This review is also available on WorldCat, Barnes and Noble, and GoodReads.)

Enjoying the sunshine while reading Dear Bully