After being up for just over a month, I dismantled the A Game of Thrones Read-Alikes for Teens display (note: clean reads, of course) and replaced it with a Printz Award and Honor Book display. This time around, check-in notes were added to the materials via the ILS so that returning books to the display won’t be such a chore.

Being interested in YA lit, I was aware of the Printz Award prior to the start of library school, but was pleased to learn much more about it through my classes with adjunct professor, Suzanne Todd.

In case you’re not familiar…

Q: What is the Printz Award?

A: Each year, the Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature is awarded to one book for its literary merit. In addition to the award, the Printz committee also selects up to four “honor” books. The award and honors are announced at the American Library Association’s mid-winter conference.

Q: Who is Michael L. Printz?

A: Michael Printz, an active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association, was a school media specialist at a high school in Topeka, Kansas. He passed away in 1996.

My favorite Printz books:
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson, and Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein, 

Here’s a complete list of the award and honor books by year:

Award: In Darkness by Nick Lake
Honor Books: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz; Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein; Dodger by Terry Pratchett; The White Bicycle by Beverley Brenna

Award: Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley
Honor Books: Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler (artwork by Maira Kalman); The Returning by Christine Hinwood; Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey; The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

Winner: Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
Honor Books: Stolen by Lucy Christopher; Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King; Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick; Nothing by Janne Teller

Award: Going Bovine by Libba Bray
Honor Books: Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman; The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey; Punkzilla by Adam Rapp; Tales of the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973 by John Barnes

Award: Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
Honor Books: The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Vol. 2: The Kingdom on the Waves by M. T. Anderson; The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart; Nation by Terry Pratchett; Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan

Award: The White Darkness by Geraldine McCaughrean
Honor Books: Dreamquake: Book Two of the Dreamhunter Duet by Elizabeth Knox;
One Whole and Perfect Day by Judith Clarke; Repossessed by A.M. Jenkins; Your Own, Sylvia: A Verse Portrait of Sylvia Plath by Stephanie Hemphill

Award: American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
Honor Books: The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation; v. 1: The Pox Party by M.T. Anderson; An Abundance of Katherines by John Green; Surrender by Sonya Hartnett; The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Award: Looking for Alaska by John Green
Honor Books: Black Juice by Margo Lanagan; I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak; John Lennon: All I Want Is the Truth, a Photographic Biography by Elizabeth Partridge; A Wreath for Emmett Till by Marilyn Nelson

Award: how i live now by Meg Rosoff
Honor Books: Airborn by Kenneth Oppel; Chanda’s Secrets by Allan Stratton; Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary D. Schmidt

Award: The First Part Last by Angela Johnson
Honor Books: A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly; Keesha’s House by Helen Frost;
Fat Kid Rules the World by K.L. Going; The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler

Award: Postcards from No Man’s Land by Aidan Chambers
Honor Books: The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer; My Heartbeat by Garret Freymann-Weyr; Hole in My Life by Jack Gantos

Award: A Step From Heaven by An Na
Honor Books: The Ropemaker by Peter Dickinson; Heart to Heart: New Poems Inspired by Twentieth-Century American Art by Jan Greenberg Abrams; Freewill by Chris Lynch; True Believer by Virginia Euwer Wolff

Award: Kit’s Wilderness by David Almond
Honor Books: Many Stones by Carolyn Coman; The Body of Christopher Creed by Carol Plum-Ucci; Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging: Confessions of Georgia Nicolson by Louise Rennison; Stuck in Neutral by Terry Trueman

Award: Monster by Walter Dean Myers
Honor Books: Skellig by David Almond; Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson; Hard Love by Ellen Wittlinger